The Netherlands is in Western Europe, but also includes three islands in the Caribbean. The European part of the Netherlands borders Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the northwest.

Most people get confused by the term Netherlands and Holland, but Holland (North and South) is actually only two of the provinces in the Netherlands.